Osile Traditional ruler of Oke-Ona in Abeokuta,  one of the four sectional quaters that constituted Egbaland. Others are Egba Alake, Gbagura and Owu. Oke-Ona is in Abeokuta North Local Government Area of Ogun State with over 19 communities under it. The Osile throne in Oke-Ona was founded by Oranmiyan who was the son of Okanbi and the grandson of Oduduwa. He was said to be the first Oba to occupy the throne of the Osile at the old Oko Orile near Ile-Ife. It was gathered that the throne of Osile (Oloko) was first occupied by Oba Oranmiyan who was the last direct son of Oduduwa. The first grand child of Oduduwa being a female was called Iyunade and she happened to be the mother of the first Olowu of Owu. Before arrival to Abeokuta on 5 August 1830, Osile was formerly the Oloko of Oko, who was also the Alafin of Oko in the early days.

According to history the second person that occupied the throne of the Osile (Oloko) was another son of Oba Oranmiyan called Sango who is today worshipped by some in Yorubaland. Modern record of past Osile shows seven kings in succession before Tejuosho:  Oba Karunwi(1897- 1899), Sanyaolu Adebare (1900 – 1902), David Sokunbi, Karunwi II (1904-1918) , Suberu Adedamola (1918 -1932), Adebayo Sobayo, Adebare II (1934-1944), Alimi A d e n i r a n Adedamola II (1951- 1958). Adedapo Tejuoso became Osile after  Adedamola had passed on in 1989. He was coronated on 1989.  Tejuoso is the only surviving child of the third Iyalode of Egbaland, Bisoye Tejuoso[i].



[i] Tribune March 8, 2009

Tope Apoola
Profession: Writer